Tanner’s Poem

My seven year old wrote this poem, and I just had to share it. She’s in second grade. I especially like her reaction at the end. 😉  I started writing poetry when I was about her age. Reading this made me super-happy.

 

I saw pumpkins stacked in a pile
listening to spooky songs.
I stepped in gooey mud puddles
as I walked along.
I stomped through the spooky woods,
I got scared and ran away
and that was the end of me!
The orange leaves were blowing in the wind.
I tripped over a log,
I looked up,
The vicious mummy was standing right there.
The one I heard earlier, you know.
Oh I karate chopped him
and skipped all the way home.
Aaaaaaah, that felt good.

                                     ~ Tanner H.

             

About hilaryharwell

Writer, artist, Supermom. I am an ardent observer of life and a lover of laughter, warm sunshine and good company. View all posts by hilaryharwell

Leave a Reply

