Contemplating Stillness – the finished work

And here we have the finished product!  I put the final touches on this painting this evening.  My mother has been in town for the past week and for some reason I find her presence too distracting to create, which is the cause for the delay in posting this.  I’m really happy with the way it turned out.  Whenever I look at the woman standing amidst the waves, I wonder what she’s thinking about.  I hope you enjoy it too!

About hilaryharwell

Writer, artist, Supermom. I am an ardent observer of life and a lover of laughter, warm sunshine and good company. View all posts by hilaryharwell

2 responses to “Contemplating Stillness – the finished work

  • lesliepaints

    I like what you came up with. The colors are so different that the image combined with the color and landscape of this made me think that the woman may be looking for the “pink” in her life again. That made me like it even more!

  • hilaryharwell

    thanks Leslie! I love that interpretation! The mountains in the background remind me of those in the Himalayas, when the snow blows off the summit. So I was thinking perhaps she was contemplating her spirituality, which is where the title came from… Being still within the mind in order to be present and awake in life….

Leave a comment